Leave a comment

How musicians can open social media side doors

Socially Savvy Musician

Here is a guest blog I did on Ian Greenleigh’s blog Dare to Comment.  Give his book a read if your looking for some inspiration on how to use social media for you music career.

The Social Media Side Door

I’m an independent singer-songwriter and I’ve been using social media to share my music since 2006.  It’s funny to think I started doing this in the heyday of Myspace.  Oh how things have changed.  Recently, I came across The Social Media Side Door: How to Bypass the Gatekeepers to Gain Greater Access and Influence by Ian Greenleigh (from here onwards I refer to it by the official hashtag, #tsmsd) and immediately liked the writing style.  I was also impressed with the amount of research that went into it.

Like many musicians, I’ve been trying to maximize the effectiveness of my social media use lately.  Trying to stay current is tough with new platforms for musicians…

View original post 471 more words

Leave a Reply

